A childhood-hated and now adult-loved dish…and why that changed

I remember that the one thing I couldn’t stand when I was little for my mother to say was that she was making something for dinner with cabbage. Being Eastern European, that was actually quite a lot since many of our traditional dishes include it. But I couldn’t stand the ingredient and rolled my eyes everytime my mom mentioned it. Then once it got to the dinner table, I would pick through the dish, trying to find something edible other than the cabbage and trying to not let my mother notice…which was usually unsuccessful and ended in a scolding for “playing with my food.”

Fast forward to about ten years later and, for some reason, I find cabbage oddly satisfying to cook with. I blame it on the taste-buds and all that. Anyway, as I was putting our dinner together last night, a dish with cabbage, I was thinking of all these things and decided to share it with you all. I hope you like cabbage, but if not, at least save the recipe…you might find it appetizing in a few years.

Romanian Giveci (ghe-ve-chi)

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Tablespoons oil
  • 1-2 links sausage (we used smoked, home-made sausage but use whatever you like)
  • 1/2 large onion
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 1 green or red pepper
  • 1/2 head of cabbage
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon pepper
  • 8 oz can of tomato sauce
  • 1 cup cooked rice

Start by cooking the one cup of rice according to package directions. While the rice is cooking, cut up the sausage into pieces about 1/2″ thick. Add the oil to a an 8 quart pot and dump the sausage in. Cook about 5 minutes then chop up the onion and add to the pot.

DSCF2180

DSCF2181

Fry until the onions turn yellow after which you add up the sliced carrots and cook until they soften, about 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, chop up the pepper and finely slice the cabbage. Once the carrots are softened add the pepper then the cabbage. DSCF2183The pot will be relatively full at this point, but the cabbage shrinks considerably as it cooks. Add the salt and pepper and then cover, letting the vegetables cook about 10 minutes or until the cabbage is about half its size.

DSCF2185

Then add the tomato sauce and cover, cooking another 10 minutes. At this point you can remove the pot from heat and add the rice, stirring to get everything incorporated.

DSCF2187

DSCF2188

That’s it, now serve and enjoy!

DSCF2191Get a PDF of the recipe here! Giveci

Leave a Reply

